Tuesday, 01 October 2019 11:03

Important changes to the CTDC/CTIA Certifications

TIA recently made an announcement which will forever change the landscape of the data centre standards industry practises. TIA has established a TIA-942 Accreditation Scheme for data centres to regulate the industry. The data centre industry has for many years been plague by unverifiable data centre facility certifications issued by various parties, some are truly expert and fully qualified, but many are not.  The TIA-942 accreditation scheme will establish Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs).  The CABs are required to employ qualified CTDC/CTIA to ensure competence on the TIA-942 standard. 



To create higher value and transparency, TIA, EPI and EXIN, have streamlined the CTDC/CTIA certifications in two aspects:


  1. The CTDC/CTIA certifications will no longer have an expiry date
  2. The CTDC/CTIA certifications will be linked to the respective ANSI/TIA-942 version and exam


i.e.  An individual who took the CTDC and CTIA training based on ANSI/TIA-942-B and the accompanying exams will receive the CTDC ANSI/TIA-942-B and CTDC ANSI/TIA-942-B certificate.


These changes will take effect on 1 Oct 2019. 



There are two ANSI/TIA-942 versions:

  • Certificates awarded before Aug 2017 are CTDC/CTIA ANSI/TIA-942-A
  • Certificates awarded after Aug 2017 are CTDC/CTIA ANSI/TIA-942-B



CTDC and CTIA certificate holders will be able to download their updated certificates (without expiry date and with the ANSI/TIA-942 versions) from the EXIN website. We will advise all certificate holders of this change and encourage them to download their updated certificates via the EXIN Portal.



This will have great benefits to the entire data centre industry. 

  1. Certified professionals
    It will enable them to promote and differentiate themselves as proficient on the relevant TIA-942 version. 
  2. Customers/Employers of these professionals (such as commercial data centres, enterprise data centres, consulting firms, audit and certification organisations)
    It will allow them to identify the certified professionals with the right expertise, whether designer or auditor, and on the relevant TIA-942 standard version.
  3. Training partners
    The TIA-942 accreditation scheme will raise the bar of industry players by requiring proof of competences on the ANSI/TIA-942 standard. Therefore, the serious players will need to acquire the competence and certifications on CTDC/CTIA for the version the customer is pursuing.



  1. Do I have to recertify my CTDC, CTIA and CTEA?
    No.  The CTDC, CTIA and CTEA certifications are tied to the ANSI/TIA-942 version and therefore they do not have an expiry date.  However, it is highly recommended that you acquire the latest certificates when a new version of ANSI/TIA-942 is released to ensure you are fully aware of the design criteria of the respective ANSI/TIA-942 version of the standard. 
  1. As a current CTDC/CTIA, when a new ANSI/TIA-942 version is released, what is the certification process?
    Start with the CTDC, then CTIA and lastly CTEA to meet the pre-requisite of each succeeding certificate. 
  2. Will there be a bridging course or courses? 
    We will review the extent of the ANSI/TIA-42 with each revision to determine the training options.
We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to use of cookies.
Ok Decline